Skip to content
October 12, 2012 / zendani1

Fariborz Birjandian, recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond

On October 9th, Fariborz Birjandian was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his exemplary commitment and contributions to the well being of newcomers in Canada. Marking the 60th anniversary of the reign of Queen Elizabeth II, the medal honours recipients who have shown through their passion and dedication how important it is to give back to their community, and to Canada. 

560499 4311871288820 1883942180 n

 

Fariborz Birjandian Executive Director From the local level to international, Fariborz Birjandian has served on many committees, boards and task forces related to immigration, refugees, diversity, equal rights and the cultural arts. He became a refugee when he left his home country of Iran and settled for a brief time in Lahore, Pakistan, where he began his involvement and work with refugees through the UNHCR. Fariborz was resettled to Canada, where he volunteered with CCIS and soon began work as a Settlement Counselor for the organization. For the past 14 years, he has been the Executive Director of CCIS and is responsible for over 200 staff, 1,300 volunteers and overseeing approximately 70 programs. Fariborz’s community involvement for the past 20 years in Canada is varied and extensive. He has received numerous awards and recognitions for his involvements including, Government of Canada’s Citation for Citizenship, the Queen’s Jubilee Commemorative Medal and the Alberta Centennial Medal. Fariborz’s formal education is in Maritime Science and Administration Management.

This is a letter I received from my friend Fariborz 
Homayoun Aziz,
I have been recognized for my past 25 Years working with Refugees in Canada and oversea, my contribution to. Settlement and integration of immigrants in Canada and simply trying to be a good citizen. Recently I had the honor of receiving the Diamond Jubilee medal presented by Steven Harper the Canadian Prime Minister , I also received the Gold Jubilee medal in 2002, the Alberta Centennial commemorative medal in 2005 and the Citation of Citizenship from Federal Government.
It has been a different experience where in my own country where I served 14 years in the Navy and served Four years in the War ,were denied all my basic Human rights because It just happened that I was born in a Baha’i family and was not going to lie and become muslim,
I am honored for the recognition I have received, but what I have done is nothing compared to the kindness Canadian have have shown toward me and my family, When we became Refugee to provide us with their generosity and let us to come to Canada and start a new life. I went through this details for you as I know you care.
Love,

Fariborz Birjandian, recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond is a post from: Persian Icons – پرشین آیکانز and our Facebook page is FB.com/PersianIcons

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/PersianIconsOrg_ArmanRezakhani/~3/U8–6aAV72s/

Leave a Reply

